Tunis, Tunisia

About Tunis
Founded by the Berbers in the 2nd millennium BCE, the city of Tunis has been controlled by Phoenicians, Romans, Arab Muslims, the Ottomans, the Spanish, the French and the Germans, finally achieving independence as the capital of Tunisia in 1956. This history has made Tunis a mélange of ancient and modern cultures. The medina is a network of narrow alleyways, mosques, mausoleums, palaces and a souq where shoppers haggle over the price of everything from filigreed gold to inexpensive souvenirs.

Arabic is the official language, and Tunisian Arabic, known as Tounsi, is the national, vernacular variety of Arabic and is used by the public. French also plays a major role in Tunisian society, despite having no official status.
Time Zone
Tunisia is 1 hour ahead of Coordinated Universal Time (UTC).
The dinar is the official currency of Tunisia, abbreviated officially as TND. Unofficial abbreviations include TD or dinar.
The dinar is divided into 1000 milim or millimes.
Coins are in the following denomination: 5 dinars, 2 dinars, 1 dinar, 1/2 dinar, 200 millimes, 100 millimes, 50 millimes, 20 millimes, 10 millimes, 5 millimes and 1 millime.
Notes or bills are in the denomination of TND 5, 10, 20, 30, and 50.

In Tunisia, the climate is Mediterranean on the northern coast, with mild, rainy winters and hot, sunny summers.

For information on Getting around in Tunisia, please visit: https://www.worldtravelguide.net/guides/africa/tunisia/getting-around/